Home Forums My Family Band Discussion Reply To: My Family Band Discussion

• David

September 30, 2022 at 7:59 am

The Wake-Up Call, September 30, 2022

I am a student of leadership and I spent most of my working career developing leaders and building leadership capacity in communities and churches. I view Disciple making as leadership development. The same principles that apply to effective leadership are relevant to effective discipleship and disciple making. One of my favorite set of principles or models for leadership is the “Five Practices of Leadership” proposed by Jim Kouses and Barry Posner in their landmark book entitled The Leadership Challenge.

In the book they propose 5 Practices of Exemplary Leadership

(https://www.leadershipchallenge.com/research/five-practices.aspx): they contend that exemplary leaders display five core practices or behaviors: they Model the Way, Inspire a Shared Vision, Challenge the Process, Enable Others to Act, and Encourage the Heart. I could spend a lot of time expanding on how each of these practices applies to Discipleship and Disciple Making, but it is the fifth practice that is very applicable to today’s Text, “But encourage one another day after day, as long as it is still called “Today,” so that none of you will be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin” (Hebrews 3:13). JD left out that last part for some reason.